Lionel Messi: Barcelona forward wins Ballon d’Or for record sixth time

Messi is now one Ballon d’Or steal before Cristiano Ronaldo

Barcelona forward Lionel Messi has received the Ballon d’Or award for the area’s simplest participant for a file sixth time.

It is the 32-year-extinct Argentine’s first Ballon d’Or since 2015 and is derived after he scored 54 events for club and country in 2018-19, by which Barca received La Liga.

Virgil van Dijk used to be 2d – one of four Liverpool avid gamers in the pinnacle seven, along with Sadio Mane in fourth.

Juventus and Portugal forward Cristiano Ronaldo, who has received the award 5 events, used to be third in the balloting.

England defender Lucy Bronze used to be overwhelmed to the girls’s award, finishing2d in the encourage of Megan Rapinoe,who used to be Golden Ball winner as USA claimed a 2d successive World Cup in 2019.

Liverpool keeper Alisson received the inaugural Yashin Trophy for simplest goalkeeper, before Barcelona’s Germany global Marc-Andre ter Stegen and Brazilian compatriot Ederson of Manchester City.

Defender Matthijs de Ligt took the Kopa Trophy, awarded to the most life like seemingly below-21 participant and selected by former Ballon d’Or winners.

The 20-year-extinct, who joined Juventus this summer season after serving to Ajax reach the semi-finals of final season’s Champions League, beat Borussia Dortmund and England forward Jadon Sancho to the award.

Messi’s steal formula the Ballon d’Or award has been received by a participant from Spain’s La Liga in each and every of the final 11 years, along with final year’s winner Luka Modric, who broke the 10-year Messi-Ronaldo monopoly on the prize.

“This present day is my sixth Ballon d’Or. It is an completely diverse 2d, lived with my family and my kids,” Messi acknowledged.

“As my companion acknowledged, you ought to never ruin dreaming but constantly work to increase and continue to revel in. I am very fortunate, I am blessed.

READ ALSO  England in West Indies: Tourists recall Keaton Jennings and drop Ben Foakes

“I’m hoping to continue for a truly lengthy time. I realise that I am very fortunate, even though, in the future, retirement will ring. This also would possibly be delicate.

“But I unruffled rep luminous years before me. Time goes in a transient time, so I are desirous to revel in soccer and my family.”

The Argentine forward no longer too lengthy prior to now notched up 700 appearances for Barca, at some level of which duration he has scored an gorgeous 614 objectives while a hit 34 trophies, along with 10 La Liga and four Champions League titles, and a bunch of different records and awards.

Messi’s foremost trophy haul
La Liga (10)2004-05, 2005-06, 2008-09, 2009-10, 2010-11, 2012-13, 2014-15,2015-16, 2017-18, 2018-19
Copa del Rey (6)2008-09, 2011-12, 2014-15, 2015-16, 2016-17, 2017-18
Champions League (4)2005-06, 2008-09, 2010-11, 2014-15
Ballon d’Or (6)2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019

His wonderful shows for Barcelona enabled him to defend off the topic of Champions League winner Van Dijk, who used to be aiming to alter into the first defender to steal the award since Italy’s Fabio Cannavaro in 2006.

“It used to be an incredible year, but there is a couple of avid gamers admire that who are a shrimp bit unnatural,” Van Dijk acknowledged of Messi and Ronaldo. “So it is some distance required to respect greatness as smartly.

“I used to be shut, but there used to be lawful any individual a shrimp bit bit better.

“I’m more than happy with what I finished final year with Liverpool and Holland, and with any luck we can manufacture that again this year. But that will seemingly be tricky with these guys around right here unruffled.

“I never opinion that I would possibly possibly well possibly be up for a Ballon d’Or till I used to be basically nominated. It reveals plenty about how my profession has been. My profession has been diverse from the winner right here, I came dull, but I never gave up on my dreams.

READ ALSO  Champions League final: Guillem Balague on Klopp & Pochettino preparations

“I had to work demanding every step of the formula, so that you just would possibly be right here makes me very proud. And I are desirous to work demanding and be right here again next year.”

The elephantine list

1. Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina)

2. Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool and Netherlands)

3. Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus and Portugal)

4. Sadio Mane (Liverpool and Senegal)

5. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool and Egypt)

6. Kylian Mbappe (Paris St-Germain and France)

7. Alisson (Liverpool and Brazil)

8. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich and Poland)

9. Bernardo Silva (Manchester City and Portugal)

10. Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City and Algeria)

11. Frenkie de Jong (Barcelona and Netherlands)

12. Raheem Sterling (Manchester City and England)

13. Eden Hazard (Staunch Madrid and Belgium)

14. Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City and Belgium)

15. Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus and Netherlands)

16. Sergio Aguero (Manchester City and Argentina)

17. Roberto Firmino (Liverpool and Brazil)

18. Antoine Griezmann (Barcelona and France)

19. Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool and England)

20=Dusan Tadic (Ajax and Serbia)

20=Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal and Gabon)

22. Son Heung-min (Tottenham and South Korea)

23. Hugo Lloris (Tottenham and France)

24=Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli and Senegal)

24=Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona and Germany)

28=Donny van de Beek (Ajax and Netherlands)

28=Joao Felix (Atletico Madrid and Portugal)

28=Marquinhos (Paris St-Germain and Brazil)

What’s the Ballon d’Or?

The Ballon d’Or has been awarded by France Football every year since 1956, with England’s Stanley Matthews the first winner.

It used to be handiest for European avid gamers till 1995, when it expanded to alter into originate for any participant at a European club. From 2007 it unfolded to the rest of the area.

READ ALSO  NFC Championship Game preview: Rams-Saints

The 30-man list of nominees is compiled by the editorial crew of the French journal, with the winner voted for by journalists from across the area, with one representative per nation.

From 2010 to 2015 it merged with Fifa’s awards, but they split and the area governing physique position up its respect awards again in 2016.

Ballon d’Or: Ronaldo & Messi dominate since 2008
WinnerRunner-upThird establish of abode
2007KakaCristiano RonaldoLionel Messi
2008Cristiano RonaldoLionel MessiFernando Torres
2009Lionel MessiCristiano RonaldoXavi
2010Lionel MessiAndres IniestaXavi
2011Lionel MessiCristiano RonaldoXavi
2012Lionel MessiCristiano RonaldoAndres Iniesta
2013Cristiano RonaldoLionel MessiFranck Ribery
2014Cristiano RonaldoLionel MessiManuel Neuer
2015Lionel MessiCristiano RonaldoNeymar
2016Cristiano RonaldoLionel MessiAntoine Griezmann
2017Cristiano RonaldoLionel MessiNeymar
2018Luka ModricCristiano RonaldoAntoine Griezmann
2019Lionel MessiVirgil van DijkCristiano Ronaldo

Read More